Adelaide Thunderbirds snatch up Victorian Samantha Gooden for 2020

THE Adelaide Thunderbirds have bolstered their shooting line-up with the addition of Samantha Gooden as a permanent replacement player for the 2020 Suncorp Super Netball season. Having lost Maria Folau at the end of 2019 and youngster Sasha Glasgow suffering a devastating ACL injury towards the latter half of the season the Thunderbirds were in dire need of more shooting power. Cody Lange also opted to take time away from the game leaving the Tbirds in the lurch, but the inclusion of Gooden will help to add some depth to their shooting trio.

Adelaide recruited shooting sensation and SPAR Proteas goaler, Lenize Potgieter who spent some time out in Australia joining the Queensland Firebirds in 2019 while Romelda Aiken was injured. Potgieter will have a different challenge heading into the 2020 season as a key cog to shoulder the load in attack, coming into the team as the most experienced shooter making her a key pickup for the new Thunderbirds line-up.

Gooden has spent time with Victorian teams Collingwood Magpies and Melbourne Vixens as a training partner throughout her career, meaning she is well aware of the measures necessary to perform on the Super Netball stage. The young Victorian can switch between shooter and attack making her an exciting prospect amongst the likes of Potgieter and Charlee Hodges. The Thunderbirds will be hoping to better their performance from last year with the return of some key players and consolidation of new combinations across the court.

Shamera Sterling
Hannah Petty
Kate Shimmin
Sasha Glasgow
Cody Lange
Chelsea Pitman
Layla Guscoth
Maisie Nankivell
Shadine van der Merwe
Lenize Potgieter
Samantha Gooden **permanent injury replacement
Charlee Hodges

Caitlin Bassett
Jamie-Lee Price
Jo Harten
Matilda McDonell
Teigan O’Shannassy
Kiera Austin
Sam Poolman
Kristiana Manu’a
Amy Parmenter
Madeline Hay

Ash Brazill
Geva Mentor
Molly Jovic* injury replacement for Kelsey Browne
Matilda Garrett
Nat Medhurst
Shimona Nelson
Gabrielle Sinclair
Melissa Bragg
Madi Browne
Jodi-Ann Ward

Emily Mannix
Kate Moloney
Liz Watson
Jo Weston
Kadie-Ann Dehaney
Caitlin Thwaites
Tegan Philip
Kate Eddy
Mwai Kumwenda
Tayla Honey

Sophie Garbin
Maddy Proud
Maddy Turner
Sam Wallace
Helen Housby
Lauren Moore
Paige Hadley
Nat Haythornthwaite
Sarah Klau
Kayla Cullen

Gabi Simpson
Gretel Tippett
Kim Jenner
Tara Hinchliffe
Romelda Aiken
Ine-Mari Venter
Rudi Ellis
Jemma Mi Mi
Macy Gardner
Lara Dunkley* injury replacement for Mahalia Cassidy

Laura Scherian
Cara Koenen
Steph Wood
Annika Lee-Jones
Peace Proscovia
Phumza Maweni
Karla Pretorius
Maddy McAuliffe
Laura Langman
Jacqui Russell

Alice Teague-Neeld
Courtney Bruce
Ingrid Colyer
Jess Anstiss
Jhaniele Fowler
Olivia Lewis
Shannon Eagland
Stacey Francis
Verity Charles
Kaylia Stanton

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *